Back to news

2015 Alumni Awards Honorees

February 17, 2015

The 2015 Alumni Awards will be held on Saturday, April 11, 2015 on the Medford/Somerville campus. We look forward to celebrating these spectacular honorees!

2015 Distinguished Achievement Honorees:

Judge André Birotte, A87

Birotte, nominated by President Obama and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate in 2014, is a U.S. district judge for the central district of California based in Los Angeles. Birotte has spent the majority of his legal career in the area of criminal justice, serving as U.S. attorney for the central district of California, inspector general for the Los Angeles Police Commission, a federal prosecutor, and a deputy public defender.

Judge Andre Birotte, A87

Dr. Akudo Anyanwu Ikemba, M02

Ikemba, founder of the international nonprofit Friends Africa, works towards an African continent free of AIDS, tuberculosis, and malaria. Ikemba has lead multimillion dollar fundraising efforts and coordination between Friends Africa, private companies, African celebrities, and national governments, resulting in improved direct care, advocacy efforts, and prevention. Friends Africa has trained thousands of people across Africa and impacted millions. Ikemba is a Partnerships Director at the Taskforce for Global Health.

Dr. Akudo Anyanwu Ikemba, M02

H.E. Judge Joyce Aluoch, F08

Aluoch is first vice president and judge within the International Criminal Court (ICC) at The Hague, Netherlands, and chair of its Advisory Committee on Legal Texts. Prior to joining the ICC, she served as judge of the Court of Appeal, High Court, and Magistrate of Kenya for more than 20 years. Aluoch also established the Family Division of the High Court of Kenya, which streamlined and sped up litigation in family disputes and trained judges and magistrates in human rights instruments.

H.E. Judge Joyce Aluoch, F08

Dr. Sean B. Carroll, SK83

Carroll, award-winning scientist, author, educator, and executive producer, is the leader of the Department of Science Education at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Allan Wilson Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the University of Wisconsin. An internationally-recognized evolutionary biologist, Carroll has received the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Life Science and been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. His work has also been featured in the New York Times and NOVA.

Dr. Sean B. Carrol, SK83

2015 Distinguished Service Award Honoree:

Dr. John Ficarelli, D73, DG76, D10P, DG12P

Ficarelli has made a tremendous impact on the Tufts University School of Dental Medicine, having served as president of the Dental Alumni Association, chair of the Dental M Club, member of the School of Dental Medicine’s Board of Advisors, and reunion co-chair every five years since his graduation. He also established a term scholarship at the School of Dental Medicine and encourages others to do likewise. Ficarelli teaches in the Department of Pediatric Dentistry at the School of Dental Medicine, has established dental practices in Brookline and Walpole, Massachusetts, and is a founding board member of Project Stretch: Dentistry Reaching Out to Children, an international dental volunteer organization.

Dr. John Ficarelli, D73, DG76, D10P, DG12P

2015 Young Alumni Achievement Honoree:

Daniel Scarvalone, A08

Scarvalone is passionately committed to the democratic process. Starting as a volunteer during the winter break of his senior year, Mr. Scarvalone has worked on two presidential campaigns and is now the director of data and modeling for the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, where he oversees voter research, identification, and mobilization for campaigns across the country.

Daniel Scarvalone, A08

2015 Young Alumni Service Honoree:

Kenneth Fan, E01, F07

Fan has served Tufts University as chair of the Tufts University Alumni Association’s Shared Interest Groups Committee, a member of the Tufts University Alumni Association’s Executive Committee, a member of his reunion committee, and alumni representative to the Administration and Finance Committee for the Board of Trustees. Kenneth also co-founded the Tufts Social Impact Network and the Tufts Asian American Alumni Association. Kenneth's passion for the School of Engineering, the Fletcher School, and the university as a whole has benefited the Tufts University Alumni Association for over 10 years.

Kenneth Fan, R01, F07

2015 Active Citizenship and Public Service Honoree:

Sasha Chanoff, F04, N04

Chanoff is the founder and executive director of RefugePoint, an organization that has been recognized widely for its creativity and entrepreneurship in advancing lasting solutions for refugees. Chanoff recently advised the Warner Bros. film The Good Lie about the Lost Boys of Sudan and helped establish the film’s philanthropic arm, The Good Lie Fund. He also serves on the steering committee of New England International Donors.

Sasha Chanoff, F04, N04

The Alumni Awards, instituted in 1941, honor alumni and members of the Tufts community whose distinguished accomplishments bring credit upon themselves, their communities, their professions, and Tufts University. It is the highest honor conferred by the Tufts University Alumni Association.


From Sesame Street to mission control to the field hospitals of Zambia, Tufts alumni are making an impact. Read more stories about your talented peers.