Tufts University Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the ultimate governing authority of Tufts University. Alumni of Tufts University elect 25% of the Board and the other 75% are elected by the Board. Alumni Trustees and Charter Trustees are equal in responsibility and influence.

The Board’s responsibilities include:

  • Appointment of the President and establishment of conditions of employment for the President and key officers.
  • Review and approval of the University's mission and purposes, as well as proposed major changes in programs and major enterprises.
  • Approval of policies on faculty appointment, promotion, tenure, and dismissal.
  • Approval of the annual budget and tuition, and monitoring of the university's financial condition.
  • Authorization of new construction, renovation, and upkeep.
  • Approval of all earned and honorary degrees.

For a listing and bios of all current members of the Tufts Board of Trustees, please visit the Office of the Trustees website.

Alumni Trustees

Tufts alumni elect 10 alumni to the Tufts University Board of Trustees (referred to as Alumni Trustees), two each year, to serve five-year terms.

All alumni from all the schools and programs of Tufts (the alumni body) are eligible to vote for a first five-year term for candidates to serve on the university’s Board of Trustees (these trustees are referred to as Alumni Trustees).

Alumni Trustees who were elected by the alumni body and have served a five-year term on the university’s Board, and who wish to serve a second and final five-year term need to be nominated by the Nominating Committee of the Alumni Council, the elected leadership of the alumni body, and voted on by the members of the Alumni Council at its annual meeting in the spring of each year.

The Alumni Trustees currently on the Tufts University Board of Trustees are:

Betsy Busch, M75
Term 2016–2021
Kalahn Taylor-Clark, J99, MG01
Term 2016–2021
Kate Atkinson Kaplan, G95
Term 2017–2022
John de Jong, A78, V85
Term 2012–2017
Brian H. Kavoogian, A84
Term 2013–2018
Elizabeth Cochary Gross, Ph.D., N82, NG88
Term 2013–2018
Laurie Gabriel, J76
Term 2014–2019
Hugh R. Roome III, F77, AG74, FG80
Term 2014–2019
Diana Lopez, J78
Term 2015–2020
David B. Rone, A84
Term 2015–2020

Meet the Trustees Elected in 2017

John de Jong A78, V85, was elected to the Tufts University Board of Trustees in 2012 and has been re-elected to a second, five-year term, November 2017- November 2022. Please read John’s full bio.

Kate Atkinson Kaplan, AG95, A20P, has been elected to a five-year term on the Tufts University Board of Trustees, November 2017 – November 2022. Kate received a B.A., Sociology-Anthropology from Oberlin College in 1986, and an M.A., in Urban and Environmental Policy from Tufts University in 1995.

Kate is the Chief Advancement Officer, Two Ten Footwear Foundation, and previously served as Marketing and Development Director, Jericho Road Project. She was a nonprofit management and board development consultant, for several years, prior to which she as Director of Program Development and Department Administrator at Tufts University.

Kate has a long history of volunteer involvement at Tufts, most recently as President, Tufts University Alumni Association (TUAA) 2014–2016. She has been a member of the Alumni Council since 2000 has and served on the Alumni Association’s Executive Committee since 2006 and an Alumni Representative to the Advancement Committee of the Board of Trustees, since 2009. She co-chairs the Council’s Campaign Planning Committee, is a member of the alumni Leadership Summit Planning Committee and a member of the Parents Leadership Council.