2011 Award Recipients

Distinguished Achievement Awards

John Amoruso, A52

John Amoruso is recognized for a lifetime of extraordinary service to the profession of geology. For over 50 years, he has dedicated his career and volunteer efforts to the advancement of the geological sciences, and in particular, the field of petroleum geology. He has been a consistent voice for high ethics and integrity in his field.

Anthony Massarotti, A89

Anthony Massarotti is at the top of his profession as a newspaper sportswriter, author and online and print contributor for the Boston Globe. In 2001, he was named the Massachusetts Winner of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Sportswriter of the Year award. He also co-hosts a sports talk radio show on WBZ-FM with former Boston Herald columnist Michael Felger.

Distinguished Service Awards

Mark Alpert, A70, A96P, A06P, A06P

Mark Alpert led the Tufts Alumni Association as president from 2008-10. He has served on the Alumni Council's Executive Committee since 2002, served on the Awards Committee 2001 to 2004, as Chair 2002-2004, was Chair of Tufts Alumni Admissions Program (TAAP) for his region from 1994-2001 and was a TAAP interviewer from 1988-2001.

Dan Coleman, A73

Dan Coleman co-chaired the planning for the Tufts University Alumni Association's 150th anniversary in 2010. He originated the idea of Tufts Notables, a collection of accomplished Tufts alumni. He has served on the Executive Committee and has been an active member of the council since 2006 participating on many council committees.

David Rosenthal, M63, J87P, AG88P

David Rosenthal is the current president of the Tufts Medical Alumni Association. He instituted the Dean's Distinguished Service Award to deserving Tufts Medical Alumni at their 25th and 50th reunions. He has served as chair of his reunion committees and is currently planning his 50th reunion in 2013. He is an ex officio member of the medical school's board of overseers.

Young Alumni – Distinguished Achievement Award

Amos Winter, E03

Amos Winter, E03, while pursuing his doctorate in mechanical engineering at MIT, invented the Leveraged Freedom Chair, a wheelchair that brings mobility to people with disabilities in developing countries, where rough terrain and physical infrastructure are not conducive to traditional wheelchairs.

Young Alumni – Distinguished Service Award

Bess Dopkeen, A04

Bess Dopkeen identifies and develops substantive active citizenship summer internships in Washington, DC for Tufts students, and directs the CASE Network, a program that connects Tufts students with alumni mentors.

Active Citizenship and Public Service Award

Robin Smalley, J77

Robin Smalley is co-founder and international director of mothers2mothers, which works to create an effective, sustainable model of care that provides education and support for pregnant women and new mothers living with HIV/AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa.